In My Father’s House

(photograph of Aileene Hanks)

IN MY FATHER’S HOUSE

“In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you” (John 14:2)

     INTRO.:  A song which talks about the “mansions” or dwelling places in heaven is “In My Father’s House.” The text was written and the tune was composed both by Anna Aileene Hanks Williams, who was born on September 8, 1933, at Kennett in Dunklin County, Missouri, the daughter of Jasper Nathaniel Hanks (1896–1967) and Lydia Anne Garrett Hanks (1897–1972).  Aileene was a blind American Gospel singer and songwriter who was the author and composer of the Southern Gospel song, “In My Father’s House (Are Many Mansions).”  It was copyrighted in 1953 by PeeMusic Ltd. and later assigned to Gospeltone Music Publications.  The song was first recorded in 1954 by The Blackwood Brothers.  It was one of only two songs, the other being “I Have But One Goal,” which the group recorded between 1953 and 1956.

     In 1956, Aileene married Earl Pence Williams (1909–1964), and they went on to have two children, James Nathan Williams and Nancy Earlene Williams (later Payne).  Elvis Presley later rearranged and recorded “In My Father’s House” at RCA Studios on October 30, 1960, and it appears on the album His Hand in Mine.  The version recorded by Elvis is slow, in the key of B Major and progresses from B to E major, to C# 7 to F#7.  Sometimes Elvis is listed at the songwriter, but he merely arranged it.  Elvis was said to be particularly fond of playing hymns on his gilded piano in Graceland’s Music Room, “talking about home as heaven and the mansion as a mark of God’s favor.”  Aileene Hanks Williams, aged 64, died on November 24, 1997, at Huntsville in Madison County, Alabama, and was buried in Rainbow Memorial Park at Rainbow City, Etowah County, Alabama.

     I do not now remember where I first saw “In My Father’s House.” It may have been in the 1965 New Songs of Inspiration Book 6 edited by John T. Benson Jr. and published by John T. Benson Publishing Company of Nashville, TN.   Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church for use in Churches of Christ, the song has appeared in the 1965 Christian Hymnsongs and the 1973 Great Inspirational Songs both edited by Albert E. Brumley, and the 2017 Standard Songs of the Church edited by Michael Andrew Grissom.

     This song makes reference to the King James Version of the Bible in John 14:2.

I. Stanza 1 tells us that Jesus is preparing us a place in the heavenly city

In my Father’s house are many mansions;

If it were not true He would have told me so.

He has gone away to live in that bright city;

He’s preparing me a mansion there I know.

 A. The Father’s house is in heaven: Matt. 6:9

 B. Jesus has gone away to be with the Father in heaven: Mk. 16:19

 C. And He is preparing us a place in that heavenly city, the New Jerusalem: Rev. 21:1-2

II. Stanza 2 that Jesus died to make this heavenly home possible

Jesus died upon the cross to bear my sorrow,

Freely died that souls like you might have new life;

But I know that soon there’ll come a bright tomorrow,

When the world will all be free from sin and strife.

 A. Because God loves us and wants us to be with Him forever, Jesus died for us: Rom. 5:8

 B. As a result, we can walk in newness of life here: Rom. 6:3-4

 C. And we can have the hope of world that will be free from all sin and sorrow: Rev. 21:3-4

III. Stanza 3 tells us to turn to Jesus for everything that we need

When your friends have turned you down and left you lonely,

In this world you’re all alone and Oh so blue,

Turn your thoughts away from sin to Jesus only;

A new life and friendship sweet He’ll give to you.

 A. There are times when our friends may turn us down: Ps. 41:9

 B. We need to turn away from all sin to God: 1 Thess. 1:9-10

 C. When we do that, Jesus offers us sweet friendship: Jn. 15:13-15

     CONCL.:  The chorus encourages us to keep our minds set on those mansions above.

Do not shun the Savior’s love from up in glory,

Or you won’t be there to sing the gospel story.

In my Father’s house are many mansions,

If you’re true then to this land you’ll surely go.

This spiritual song reminds me that God is preparing a mansion in heaven and that Jesus died on the cross to “bear my sorrow” and “so souls like you may have new life” as it encourages me to remember that there are many mansions “In My Father’s House.”

Leave a comment