“Hear Me When I Call”

"HEAR ME WHEN I CALL"
"Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness: Thou hast enlarged me when I was in distress; have mercy upon me, and hear my prayer" (Ps. 4.1)

     INTRO.: A song which to hear our prayers when we are in distress is "Hear Me When I Call." The text was written and the tune was composed both by Tillit Sidney Teddlie, who was born at Swan TX, on June 3, 1885, and died in 1987 at Greenville, TX, at the age of 102. The song was copyrighted in 1962. Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, it appeared in the 1965 Great Christian Hymnal No. 2 edited by Teddlie; the original 1978 edition of the 1978/1983 (Church) Gospel Songs and Hymns edited by V. E. Howard; and the 1978 Hymns of Praise edited by Reuel Lemmons. Today it may be found in the 1992 Praise for the Lord edited by John P. Wiegand; in addition to the 2007 Sacred Songs of the Church edited by William D. Jeffcoat; and the 2007 Sumphonia Hymn Supplement edited by David Maravilla, Mark Coulson, Charlotte Couchman, Craig Roberts, and Steve Wolfgang.

     The song emphasizes the importance of calling out to God in prayer.

I. Stanza 1 tells us that we should pray when we are weak
"Hear me when I call, O God, my righteousness;
Unto Thee I come in weakness and distress.
Hold my trembling hand, lest helpless I should fall;
O hear me, Lord, hear me, O hear me when I call."
 A. God wants us to call upon Him: Ps. 116.17
 B. There are times when we are weak and need God’s strength: Rom. 14.1, 1 Thess. 5.14
 C. Therefore, we ask Him to hold our hand that He might lift us up: Ps. 119.117

II. Stanza 2 tells us that we should pray when we have doubts
"Hear my cry, O God, attend unto my prayer;
More and more I need Thy mercy and Thy care.
Clouds of doubt arise and faith grows weak and small;
O hear me, Lord hear me, O hear me when I call."
 A. There are times when we feel the need to cry out to the Lord: Ps. 27.7
 B. It is at such times that we realize that we need His mercy: Ps. 123.3
 C. This is especially true when we have doubts because we are of little faith: Matt. 8.26

III. Stanza 3 tells us that we should pray when we sin
"Hear my voice, O God, and cleanse my soul within;
Mercy do I need for all my doubts and sin.
Only in Thy grace I trust my all in all;
O hear me, Lord, hear me, O hear me when I call."
 A. There are times when we ask God to hear our voice: Ps. 86.6
 B. One such time is when we sin and seek His cleansing: Ps. 51.1-2
 C. At such times we understand our need to trust in God’s grace: Eph. 2.5

IV. Stanza 4 tells us that we should pray when we are lonely
"Hear my prayer, O God, I need Thy cleansing power;
Let me feel Thee near each moment of each hour.
Hold my trembling hand, lest helpless I should fall;
O hear me, Lord hear me, O hear me when I call."
 A. There are times when we understand that we need God’s power in our lives: Eph. 3.20-21
 B. This is especially true when we are lonely so that we strive to draw near to God that He might draw near to us: Jas. 4.8
 C. At such times we want Him to hold our hand that He might keep us from falling: Jude v. 24

CONCL.: At one time in almost all English speaking churches, only metrical Psalms were sung. There are a few churches even today where this is still the practice, but most churches now also sing "hymns of human composure." However, even many "hymns of human composure" draw from the language of the Psalms both in praising God and in expressing our devotion to the Lord. Many of the Psalms are filled with deep pathos as the Psalmist finds himself in serious trouble and cries out to the Lord, "Hear Me When I Call."

Leave a Reply

