“He’s My Very Best Friend”

“HE’S MY VERY BEST FRIEND”
“…There is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother” (Prov. 18:24)

     INTRO.:  A song which identifies Jesus Christ as a Friend who sticks closer than a brother is “He’s My Very Best Friend.”  The text was written and the tune was composed both by Thomas Benson.  The song was copyrighted in 1918 by Hildebrand-Burnett Co. and was later controlled by L. O. Sanderson.  I have no other information about the song or the songwriter except that he is credited with a total of 73 hymns by Hymnary.org.  Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, “He’s My Very Best Friend” appeared in the 1935 Christian Hymns (No. 1) edited by Sanderson.

     The song suggests several things that Jesus does for us because He is our Friend.

I. Stanza 1 tells us that He hears our prayers
“The Savior doth hear me when I pray, I’m trusting in Him from day to day;
He keepeth me in the narrow way, He’s my very, my very best Friend.”
 A. Saying that the Savior hears us when we pray simply indicates the fact that He is our Mediator through whom we pray to the Father: 1 Tim. 2:5
 B. Because of this and other manifestations of His care, we should trust Him from day to day: Eph. 1:12
 C. And if we trust Him, He will keep us in the narrow way: Matt. 7:13-14

II. Stanza 2 tells us that He redeems us from sin
“There’s heavenly sunlight in my soul, Since Jesus redeemed and made me whole;
I’ve given to Him complete control, He’s my very, my very best Friend.”
 A. There is heavenly sunlight in the soul of a Christian because Jesus is the light of the world: Jn. 8:12
 B. This light is the result of the fact that Jesus has redeemed our souls: Eph. 1:7
 C. But for this to happen, we must give Him complete control as we acknowledge Him as Lord: Rom. 10:9-10

III. Stanza 3 says that He guides our souls
“How blessed to walk at Jesus’ side, He keepeth my soul whate’er betide;
A wonderful Savior, holy guide, He’s my very, my very best Friend.”
 A. To walk with Jesus, who is the light of the world, we must walk in the light: 1 Jn. 1:5-7
 B. If we do this, He will keep our souls whatever may happen: 1 Pet. 1:5
 C. He is a wonderful guide who has given us the Scriptures to furnish us to every good work: 2 Tim. 3:1-17

     CONCL.:  The chorus encourages us never to forget the Savior because of His friendship with us.
“I’ll never forget my blessed Savior, He’s my very best Friend, my very best Friend;
No, I’ll never forget my blessed Savior, He’s my very, my very best Friend.”
Jesus died on the cross to save me from sin.  He is my Mediator with the Father through whom I can approach the throne of grace.  And He has given me His written word to guide me throughout my life.  Indeed, “He’s My Very Best Friend.”

Leave a Reply

