“I’ll Be Looking for You in Heaven Some Day”

"I’LL BE LOOKING FOR YOU IN HEAVEN SOME DAY"
"…The dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds…" (1 Thess. 4.16-17)

     INTRO.: A song which reminds us that we shall see those who have fallen asleep in Jesus again when the Lord returns is "I’ll Be Looking for You in Heaven Someday." The text was written and the tune was composed both by Donna M. (Mrs. Fred) Poyet. At the time I knew her, Mrs. Poyet lived with her husband in the Columbus, OH, area, and they were members of the Laurel Canyon Church of Christ. The song was copyrighted in 1983. I first became acquainted with it when we lived in Dayton, OH, from 1987 to 2002, and would visit occasionally in gospel meetings at Laurel Canyon. In fact, I preached in at least three meetings there myself. This song was pasted in the hymnbooks which the congregation used. Donna’s husband told me that she had produced several other hymns, some of which he thought were better than this one, and that R. J. Stevens, co-editor of Hymns for Worship, had helped her with some of them, but this is the only one which I have seen and of which I have a copy. Among hymnbooks published by brethren during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, it has not appeared and is not found in any to my knowledge.

     It emphasizes the need of looking and longing for a home in heaven.

I. Stanza 1 talks about the end of this life
"When this road of life is over, And sorrows come no more,
It will be a glad reunion Over on another shore,
Where our friends and loved ones gather And the Lord will greet us there.
I’ll be looking for you in heaven some day."
 A. The time when this road of life is over will be death, followed by the judgment: Heb. 9.27
 B. When the Lord comes for His people, it will be a glad reunion with the redeemed of all ages: Matt. 8.22
 C. Even more importantly, the Lord will greet us there because then we shall see Him as He is: 1 Jn. 3.2

II. Stanza 2 talks about the greatness of the resurrection
"Parting words will not be spoken, Only praises to His name;
We will have a brand new body; Nothing will be left the same.
Jesus saved me from my sins And bore them all away.
I’ll be looking for you in heaven some day."
 A. No parting words will be spoken in the home that the righteous receive following the resurrection because there will be no sorrow there: Rev. 21.4
 B. Rather than frail, physical bodies that are subject to disease, death, and decay, we shall have brand new immortal bodies: 1 Cor.
15.42-44, 50-54
 C. All this is possible because Jesus came to save us from our sins and bear them all away: Matt. 26.28

III. Stanza 3 talks about the blessedness of heaven
"When Jesus comes to gather All the saved ones to His breast,
And take them home to heaven, There forever to be blessed,
What a gathering of the loved ones, And I want to see you there.
I’ll be looking for you in heaven some day."
 A. Someday Jesus will come to gather all the saved ones to His breast: Acts 1.11
 B. He will then take them home to be with Him where He is: Jn. 14.1-3
 C. It will be a gathering of all who have loved the Lord to sing praises to His name forever: Rev. 5.11-13

     CONCL.: The chorus expresses the desire for everyone possible to be among that number in heaven.
"I’ll be looking for you in heaven some day.
I’ll be looking for you in heaven some day.
Where our friends and loved ones gather And the Lord will greet us ther,
I’ll be looking for you in heaven some day."
The only person that each of us can actually insure will go to heaven is himself. However, God wants all people to be saved. Therefore, every Christian should share the gospel message of salvation with others, encourage them to conduct their lives so as to meet God’s conditions to receive eternal life, and tell them, "I’ll Be Looking for You in Heaven Some Day."

Leave a Reply

