“He Will Not Leave Me Alone”

"HE WILL NOT LEAVE ME ALONE"
"…For He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee" (Heb. 13:5)

     INTRO.: A song which reminds us that Jesus has promised never to leave us nor forsake us is "He Will Not Leave Me Alone." The text was written by Mary L. Sherwin. I have been able to find no other information on this author. The tune was composed by James Milton Black (1856-1938). The song was copyrighted in 1926 by The Gospel Advocate Co. and first appeared in their Sweeter Than All Songs edited by C. M. Pullias. Black is best known as the author and composer of "When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder." Among other hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, "He Will Not Leave Me Alone" also appeared in the 1935 Christian Hymns (No. 1) edited by L. O. Sanderson.

     The song specifies several situations in which we can trust our Lord not to leave us alone.

I. Stanza 1 refers to the shadows of life
"If through the shadows my pathway should lead,
He will not leave me alone,
For I have found in my heart’s deepest need,
He will not leave me alone."
 A. If we are following Jesus, we are traveling the strait and narrow pathway that leads to everlasting life: Matt. 7:13-14
 B. However, we shall find that many times that pathway leads through the valley of the shadow of death: Ps. 23:4
 C. Yet, if we trust Him, we shall also find that Christ will always meet our heart’s deepest needs because He has promised that He will be with us always: Matt. 28:20

II. Stanza 2 refers to being weary
"When I am weary with labor and care,
He will not leave me alone.
He will stand by me my burden to share;
He will not leave me alone."
 A. Sometimes we may become weary of our labor: 1 Cor. 15:58
 B. Sometimes we may become weary due to the cares of this life: 1 Cor. 7:32-33
 C. However, we can always cast our burdens upon Him: 1 Pet. 5:7

III. Stanza 3 refers to temptations of Satan
"Satan may tempt me to turn from the way;
He will not leave me alone.
But His rich grace will sustain me each day;
He will not leave me alone."
 A. As long as we live upon this earth, we shall be tempted: Jas. 1:13-15
 B. The source of these temptations to turn from the way is Satan, the devil: Matt. 4:1-11
 C. However, God’s rich grace will sustain us as He promises not to allow us to be tempted above what we are able but will with each temptation make the way of escape: 1 Cor. 10:13

IV. Stanza 4 refers to our travels on life’s pathway
"So I will trust Him wherever I go;
He will not leave me alone.
He is my Friend, and this one thing I know:
He will not leave me alone."
 A. This life is pictured as running a race: Heb. 12:1-2
 B. Wherever we go, we need to trust the Lord: Prov. 3:5
 C. The reason that we can trust Him in our travels on life’s pathway is that He is truly a Friend: Jn. 15:13-15

CONCL.: The chorus continues to emphasize that because Jesus is our
Savior, Redeemer, and Friend, He will never leave us alone.
"He will not leave me alone,
He will not leave me alone.
He is my Savior, Redeemer, and Friend;
He will not leave me alone."
In this life, it is good to have family, friends, and especially brothers and sisters in Christ with whom to share my trials and struggles. However, I must realize that there may come times when others cannot, and sometimes will not, help me. Yet, I may always count on Jesus Christ and know that "He Will Not Leave Me Alone."

Leave a Reply

