“Clasp My Hand in Thine”

"CLASP MY HAND IN THINE"
"Let Thine hand help me; for I have chosen Thy precepts" (Ps. 119:173)

     INTRO.: A song which urges us to look to the Lord for His hand to help us as we choose His precepts is "Clasp My Hand in Thine." The text was written by Jessie H. Brown Pounds (1861-1921). The original date of its writing or origin of publication is not known to me. Mrs. Pounds was a prolific song writer, whose well-known hymns include "Am I Nearer to Heaven Today?", "Anywhere With Jesus," "Are You Coming to Jesus Tonight?", "Beautiful Isle of Somewhere," "I Know That My Redeemer Liveth," "Soul, A Savior Thou Art Needing," "The Way of the Cross Leads Home," and "Will You Not Tell It Today?" The tune for "Clasp My Hand in Thine" was composed by James Henry Fillmore (1856-1925). The song is listed as copyright 1923 by the Gospel Advocate Co. and published in their Choice Hymns of that year edited by Thomas B. Mosley and C. M. Pullias. Among other hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, it appeared in the 1935 Christian Hymns (No. 1) edited by L. O. Sanderson.

     The song mentions several specific circumstances when we need to clasp the Lord’s hand in ours.

I. Stanza 1 refers to times of shadow and darkness
"When chilly shadows quickly fall,
And darkness seems to cover all,
Dear Savior hear my pleading call,
And clasp my hand, O clasp my hand in Thine."
 A. Shadows are often used to symbolize times of fear and dread: Jer. 6:4
 B. Shadows cause darkness, and darkness is used to symbolize the forces of this world which cause fear and dread: Isa. 9:2
 C. It is in such times that we need to call upon the Lord: Ps. 4:1-3

II. Stanza 2 refers to temptations
"When tempted from the narrow way,
When in forbidden paths I stray,
In sadness, turning back, I say,
‘Lord, clasp my hand, O clasp my hand in Thine."
 A. Throughout this life, we shall be tempted by our own desires: Jas. 1:12-15
 B. These temptations allure us to leave the narrow way and stray in the forbidden paths of the wide road that leads to destruction: Matt. 7:13-14
 C. However, God is merciful and makes it possible for us, in godly sorrow, to turn back as did the prodigal son: Lk. 15:17-24

III. Stanza 3 refers to travelling toward the summer land
"O closer, closer, hold my hand,
And lead me to the summer land,
Where I may in Thy presence stand,
And clasp my hand, O clasp my hand in Thine."
 A. The Lord wants us to draw closer or nearer to Him throughout life: Jas. 4:8
 B. In this way, He will lead us to the "summer land" where the tree of life blooms continually: Rev. 22:2
 C. There, our great blessing will be to stand in His presence and dwell with Him forevermore: Rev. 21:3

     CONCL.: The chorus repeats the basic request of the stanzas.
"O clasp my hand in Thine,
O clasp my hand in Thine;
Hear Thou my prayer and grant Thy care,
And clasp my hand, O clasp my hand in Thine."
Little children often need to grasp the hand of a parent in various circumstances, such as crossing a street or walking in a crowd. Likewise, as I journey upon this earth on my way toward heaven, I should constantly be looking to my heavenly Father and saying to Him, "Clasp My Hand in Thine."

Leave a Reply

