“The Lord Has Been Mindful of Me”

"THE LORD HAS BEEN MINDFUL OF ME"
"Blessed be the Lord, who daily loadeth us with benefits; even the God of our salvation" (Ps. 68:19)

     INTRO.: A hymn which blesses the Lord who has daily loaded us with benefits is "The Lord Has Been Mindful of Me" (#478 in Hymns for Worship Revised). The text was written and the tune was composed both by Lloyd Otis Sanderson (1901-1992). Sanderson wrote, "When I was converted in 1922, I first thought that I had made a sacrifice. I left a good work, providing good pay and good friends and boosters with an opportunity to receive worthy promotion. I was involved in fund-raising for the Methodist Church with a goal of $75 million for mission work. But I left that and became a member of the church which had suffered brunts from denominationalism everywhere. But I didn’t really sacrifice. I didn’t miss a week’s work by the change. I found so many true associations. I had a thousand mothers in spiritual Israel. I had brothers and sisters by the thousands who were nearer and dearer than flesh kin. I was led into endeavors that far outstripped what I had been doing. I decided that I had been wonderfully blessed. With this feeling, I wrote ‘The Lord Has Been Mindful of Me.’ You can see this story in the lyrics. In days of shadow, troubles, and darkness, the Lord has still been mindful. More than any grief, sorrow, adversity, or sacrifice, I have been blessed. I’m rich, saved, happy, in good health, prosperous in many ways, homes open to me, and friends of greater value than all the wealth of the world. Indeed, God blesses and blesses again. And this was the song of my heart."

     The song was copyrighted in 1948 by the Gospel Advocate Co., and the copyright was renewed in 1976. Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, it appeared in the 1948 Christian Hymns No. 2 and the 1966 Christian Hymns No. 3, both edited by Sanderson; and the 1959 Majestic Hymnal No. 2 and the 1978 Hymns of Praise both edited by Reuel Lemmons. Today it may be found in the 1971 Songs of the Church and the 1990 Songs of the Church 21st C. Ed. both edited by Alton H. Howard; the 1983 edition of the 1978 Church Gospel Songs and Hymns edited by V. E. Howard; and the 1992 Praise for the Lord edited by John P. Wiegand; in addition to Hymns for Worship and the 2007 Sacred Songs of the Church edited by William D. Jeffcoat.

     The song remind us of how much the Lord has blessed us.

I. Stanza 1 talks about His mindfulness in our journey of life
"Though I, through the valley of shadow, O’er mountain or troubled sea,
And oft in the darkness, have travelled, The Lord has been mindful of me."
 A. We must all walk through the valley of shadow at times: Ps. 23:4
 B. Often we must sail the uncertain seas of this life: Ps. 107:23-32
 C. And we must travel in the darkness which represents the sinfulness of this world: Jn. 3:19-20. But God is mindful of us through it all

II. Stanza 2 talks about His mindfulness in our times of trouble
"Much more than my grief and my sorrow, Much more than adversity,
Much more than the all I have given, The Lord has been mindful of me."
 A. This life will contain its share of grief and sorrow for each of us: 1 Thess. 4:13, 1 Pet. 2:19
 B. We shall face a certain amount of adversity because the devil is our adversary who goes about like a roaring lion seeking whom he may devour: 1 Pet. 5:8
 C. And if we seek to serve Christ, there will be many things that we shall have to give up, as Paul did: Phil. 3:4-8. However, God is mindful of all these things.

III. Stanza 3 talks about His mindfulness even in our good times
"I’m rich! I am saved! I am happy! I’ve health and prosperity!
I’ve friends! I have doors ever open! The Lord has been mindful of me."
 A. If we are saved through the blood of Jesus Christ, we can rejoice and be happy in Christ: Eph. 2:8, Phil. 4:4
 B. In addition, we have whatever degree of health and prosperity that God, in His providential care for us, knows is good for us, as He adds to us those things which He sees that we need: Matt. 6:8, 33
 C. We have friends in the Lord who will be as fathers, mothers, sisters, and brothers to us: Mk. 10:29-30. Truly, each child of God can say that the Lord has been mindful of him.

     CONCL.: The chorus draws the only possible conclusion from all these benefits that the Lord has given to us.
"The Lord has been mindful of me! He blesses and blesses again!
My God is the God of the living! How excellent is His name!"
In this life I will have times of toil, tribulation, and even tragedy, but I will also have times of triumph. And through it all, the many good things that I have from the Lord’s bountiful hand to supply my needs and sustain me even in the difficult days remind me that "The Lord Has Been Mindful of Me."

4 thoughts on ““The Lord Has Been Mindful of Me”

  1. I’ve always loved this song and appreciated the depth of its meaning, but in the past 3 weeks, I’ve been threatened by 3 different kinds of Cancer and so far, although they will have to be monitored frequently and carefully, so far 2 of the 3 have turned out to be benign. I cannot get the words of this song out of my mind, nor do I want to. The Lord has truly been mindful of me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. I grew up singing this song in church. Later, the words kept coming back to my lips when I was far away from family and friends one summer, and facing daily dangers and discouragement with a hard job. Since then it has been one of the favorite happy tunes that keeps me going with the Lord in the day-to-day experiences of life. Its easy to sing by yourself while you are doing other things.

    Reply
  3. I heard this song on an old reel tape which was played at my grandparents 50th wedding anniversary in 1954. It was sung by a mens quartet and I have been searching for it. I love the song but having grown up in the Church of Christ I don’t remember singing it.
    Anyway, thank you for posting.

    Reply
    • When I was growing up in the church of Christ, for some reason or another, we did not sing this song either. It has only been over the last forty years of preaching that I have heard the song sung and even led it myself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

