“That’s Enough for Me”

"THAT’S ENOUGH FOR ME"
"…Being now justified by His blood, we shall be saved from wrath through Him" (Rom. 5.9)

     INTRO.: A hymn which teaches and admonishes us to be grateful for the fact that we can be justified by Christ’s blood and saved from wrath through Him is "That’s Enough For Me." The text was written and the tune (Enough for Me) was composed both by Elisha Albright Hoffman (1839-1929). I have not been able to find a date or source of publication for the song. Hoffman is still well known for such hymns as "Are You Washed in the Blood?", "I Must Tell Jesus," "Is Thy Heart Right With God?", and "What A Wonderful Savior," as well as the texts for "Glory to His Name," "Leaning on the Everlasting Arms," and "Where Will You Spend Eternity?" Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, "That’s Enough For Me" appeared in the 1948 Christian Hymns No. 2 edited by L. O. Sanderson, who evidently made some alterations in the text. At one time, this was apparently a very popular hymn, and in my collection of hymnbooks appeared in the 1892 Living Songs edited by W. G. E. Cunnyngham and R. M. McIntosh for the Publishing House of the Methodist Episcopal Church South; the 1939 Favorite Songs and Hymns compiled by Homer F. Morris, J. R. Baxter Jr., Virgil O. Stamps, and W. W. Combs for the Stamps-Baxter Music and Printing Co.; the 1969 Hymns of the Spirit edited by Connor B. Hall for Pathway Press; and the 1983 Old School Hymnal edited by Roland U. Green for the Old School Hymnal Co. Inc.

     The song expresses thanksgiving for the spiritual blessings that are available in Christ.

I. Stanza 1 mentions His love and grace
"O love surpassing knowledge! O grace, so full and free!
I know that Jesus saves me, And that’s enough for me."
 A. The love of Christ is something that surpasses purely human-based knowledge: Eph. 3.19
 B. However, we do know that it is the ultimate manifestion of the grace of God by which we are saved: Eph. 2.8-9
 C. Therefore, we can be assured that Jesus saves us (Sanderson changed this to "I know that Jesus loves me"): Matt. 1.21

II. Stanza 2 mentions salvation from sin
"O wonderful salvation! From sin He makes me free!
I feel the sweet assurance, And that’s enough for me."
 A. Jesus Christ came to bring salvation to sinful mankind: Acts 4.12
 B. This salvation means that we can be made free from sin: Rom. 6.17-18
 C. Sanderson changed the third line to read, "The Gospel gives assurance," and it is true that the assurance which we can feel comes through the gospel, but the point is that we can have assurance of salvation: 1 Jn. 5.13

III. Stanza 3 mentions the blood of Christ
"O blood of Christ so precious, Poured out on Calvary!
I feel its cleansing power, And that’s enough for me."
 A. The precious blood of Jesus Christ is like a lamb without blemish or spot: 1 Pet. 1.19
 B. This blood was poured out on Calvary, the Latin name of the hill Golgotha where Jesus was crucified: Lk. 23.33
 C. Some might object to the phrase "feel its cleansing power," as Sanderson obviously object to the phrase "I feel the sweet assurance" in stanza 2, and want to change it to read something like, "Its cleansing power saved me" (of course, if its cleansing power has saved us, then we ought to feel it), but the main point is that it is by the blood that Jesus shed when He gave Himself for us that we can be cleansed: Eph. 5.25-26

IV. Stanza 4 mentions the hope of entering glory
"We live in sweet communion, In holy harmony;
Thus would I enter glory, And that’s enough for me."
 A. Christians in this life are to live in sweet communion or fellowship: 2 Cor. 13.14
 B. Also, we must endeavor to maintain the unity or harmony of the body in the bond of peace: Eph. 4.3
 C. This becomes a foretaste of what it will be like to enter glory that will be revealed: 1 Pet. 5.1

     CONCL.: The chorus points out that what Jesus has provided for our redemption is enough to accomplish the task.
"And that’s enough for me, And that’s enough for me:
I know that Jesus saves me, And that’s enough for me."
Some books use the above chorus, while other books repeat the last two lines of each stanza for the second part of the chorus. Either way, I am reminded of what Jesus has done to make my redemption possible and am made to realize that when I meet His conditions upon which I can receive it then "That’s Enough For Me."

Leave a Reply

