“I’ll Be Satisfied”

"I’LL BE SATISFIED"
"…I shall be satisfied, when I awake, with Thy likeness" (Ps. 17.15)

     INTRO.: A song which reminds us that one aspect of our worship is to increase our desire and assist us in preparing for heaven where we hope to awaken and be satisfied in the Lord’s likeness is "I’ll Be Satisfied" (#386 in Sacred Selections for the Church). The text was written by Joe H. Pannell. I have no further information about the author or the date, circumstances, and original publication of the song. The tune was composed by T. N. Pannell. I have no further information about the composer either, other than that he is listed as the owner.  One might assume that the author and the composer were related. Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, the song appeared in the 1963 Abiding Hymns edited by Robert C. Welch. The only other one of our books where it is found is Sacred Selections. Among various denominational books in my collection, it was used in the 1939 Favorite Songs and Hymns published by the Stamps-Baxter Music and Printing Co., and the 1983 Old School Hymnal (Eleventh Edition) edited by Roland U. Green for use among the Primitive Baptists.

     The song focuses our attention on the blessings that we expect to receive in heaven.

I. Stanza 1 talks about praising Christ in heaven
"When my soul is singing in that promised land above, I’ll be satisfied;
Praising Christ my Savior for redeeming grace and love, I’ll be satisfied."
 A. We know that one of the activities that engage the attention of the victorious in eternity will be singing: Rev. 15.2-4
 B. Just as Joshua led the Israelites into the promised land of Canaan, our hope is to be led by Jesus into the promised land of rest above: Heb. 4.8-9
 C. The singing that will be characteristic of the promised land above will certainly include praising Christ for His grace and love: Rev.
7.9-17

II. Stanza 2 talks about never having to face death in heaven
"Living in a city where the soul shall never die, I’ll be satisfied;
There to meet with loved ones, nevermore to say goodby, I’ll be satisfied."
 A. Heaven is pictured as a city with a wall, gates, and a street: Rev. 21.9-27
 B. In this city the soul (and the glorified body, too) will never die because there will be no more death: Rev. 21.1-4
 C. As usual, Ellis J. Crum in Sacred Selections changed the third line of this stanza to "saved ones" lest brethren think that they might possibly have a loved one in heaven; when I sing about "loved ones" in heaven, I understand that only those who are saved will be there, but based upon the promises of God, I do hope to see those among my loved ones who were faithful Christians there, as well as those of the saved who have become my loved ones: 1 Thess. 4.13-17

III. Stanza 3 talks about being with the ransomed in heaven
"When I meet the ransomed over on the golden shore, I’ll be satisfied;
There I’ll join the angels singing praises evermore, I’ll be satisfied."
 A. One aspect of our hope of eternity is to meet the ransomed, because in heaven all His servants shall serve Him and reign forever and ever: Rev. 21.3-5
 B. This will be across the sea of glass which now separates us from the throne of God and "over on the golden shore" of the river of water of life: Rev. 4.6, 22.1-2
 C. There, the ransomed will join the angels in praising Christ who redeemed us: Rev. 5.8-14

     CONCL.: The chorus continues to point out that when we dwell with God in heaven we shall be truly satisfied.
"I’ll be satisfied (satisfied), I’ll be satisfied (satisfied);
When my soul is resting in the presence of the Lord, I’ll be satisfied."
Some have suggested that many of our songbooks seem overweighted with songs about heaven. That may be true in some instances, and if it is done to the exclusion of other good hymns of praise and admonition, then perhaps we have been a bit unbalanced. However, it is certainly not wrong to have and sing songs which encourage me to look forward to and prepare for that time when "I’ll Be Satisfied."

Leave a Reply

