“Since Jesus Came into My Heart”

"SINCE JESUS CAME INTO MY HEART"
"…If any man be in Christ Jesus, he is a new creature" (2 Cor. 5.17)

     INTRO.: A song which which points out that when Jesus comes into our hearts we become new creatures is "Since Jesus Came Into My Heart" (#619 in Sacred Selections for the Church). The text was written by Rufus Henry McDaniel, who was born on Jan. 29, 1850, near Ripley in Brown County, OH. After being educated in the public schools of Bentonville, OH, and at Parker’s Academy in nearby Clermont County, OH, he started preaching at age nineteen and then became a minister with the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in 1873. His wife was the former Margaret Dragoo, and they had three children. One son, Clarence also became a minister. A daughter Minnie married Frank R. Liesenhoff of Dayton, OH.

     Another son Herschel died in 1913, and in 1914, following the untimely death of his son, Rufus penned these words as an expression of his faith and hope. The tune (McDaniel) was composed by Charles Hutchinson Gabriel (1856-1932). Copyrighted by Gabriel in 1914, the song was introduced in pamphlet form at Billy Sunday campaigns at Philadelphia, PA, in 1915 and was first published later that year in Songs for Service edited by Homer A. Rodeheaver, who purchased the copyright and then renewed it in 1942.  After serving various local churches in southern Ohio, including Hamersville, Higginsport, Centerburg, Sugar Creek, and Cincinnati, McDaniel retired in Dayton, OH. During his life, he produced more than one hundred songs, many of which were found in the collections published by the Rodeheaver Co., before his death on Feb. 13, 1940, in Dayton.

     This is the only one of McDaniel’s hymns which has survived in common usage. Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, the song appeared in the 1935 Christian Hymns (No. 1) edited by L. O. Sanderson; and the 1971 Songs of the Church (original edition only) edited by Alton H. Howard. Today it may be found in the 1978/1983 (Church) Gospel Songs and Hymns edited by V. E. Howard; the 1986 Great Songs Revised edited by Forrest M. McCann; and the 1992 Praise for the Lord edited by John P. Wiegand; in addition to Sacred Selections.

     The song mentions many blessings which occur when we allow Jesus to dwell in our hearts.

I. Stanza 1 talks about light
"What a wonderful change in my life has been wrought
Since Jesus came into my heart!
I have light in my soul for which long I had sought,
Since Jesus came into my heart!"
 A. Becoming a Christian is all about being changed or converted: Acts 3.19
 B. Turning to Jesus from this world enables us to walk in the light: 1 Jn. 1.5-7
 C. This light is something that every good and honest heart seeks because we know that this world is filled with darkness: Rom. 13.12

II. Stanza 2 talks about salvation
"I have ceased from my wandering and going astray,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
And my sins, which were many, are all washed away,
Since Jesus came into my heart!"
 A. It is Jesus who has made it possible for us to cease from our wanderings and goings astray, as did the prodigal son in returning to his father: Lk. 15.17-21
 B. What causes us to wander and go astray is sin: Rom. 3.23, 6.23
 C. But because Jesus died to save us from our sins, we can have them all washed away: Acts 22.16

III. Stanza 3 talks about assurance
"I’m possessed of a hope that’s steadfast and sure,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
And no dark clouds of doubt now my pathway obscure,
Since Jesus came into my heart!"
 A. Jesus Christ give us a hope by which we can be saved: Rom. 8.24-25
 B. This hope is steadfast and sure because Jesus Himself secured it: Heb. 6,19-20
 C. Therefore, we do not have to live in doubt but can know that we have eternal life in Christ: 1 Jn. 5.11-13

IV. Stanza 4 talks about the hope of heaven
"There’s a light in the valley of death now for me,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
And the gates of the city beyond I can see,
Since Jesus came into my heart!"
 A. There are times when we must walk in the valley of death with loved ones, and ultimately for ourselves as well: Ps. 23.4
 B. However, for the Christian, there are gates which he can see by faith beckoning him onward: Rev. 21.10-13
C. These are the gates to the city beyond which God has prepared as a home for the faithful: Rev. 21.1-4

V. Stanza 5 talks about joy
"I shall go there to dwell in that city, I know,
Since Jesus came into my heart!
And I’m happy, so happy, as onward I go,
Since Jesus came into my heart."
 A. Because God has prepared this city for us and sent Jesus to die for us that we might be saved from sin, we can have the hope of going to dwell in that city: 1 Pet. 1.3-5
 B. With this kind of hope, we can also have great joy in our lives regardless of what happens to us: Phil. 4.4
 C. And this joy will enable us to press onward toward that prize: Phil. 3.13-14

     CONCL.: The chorus continues the the thought of the joy that results from having Jesus in our hearts.
"Since Jesus came into my heart,
Since Jesus came into my heart,
Floods of joy o’er my soul like the sea billows roll,
Since Jesus came into my heart."
Christians will face times of trial and tragedy in their lives. We shall undoubtedly lose many loved ones along the way. However, while we sorrow, we do not do so as those without hope. God has promised that no temptation will overtake me but He will make a way of escape. Therefore, I can look to Him and draw strength from Him to face whatever comes my way in life "Since Jesus Came Into My Heart."

Leave a Reply

