“Seeking For Me”

"SEEKING FOR ME"
"For the Son of man is come to save that which was lost" (Matt. 18.11)

     INTRO.: A song which emphasizes what Jesus did in coming to this world to seek and save the lost is "Seeking For Me" (#530 in Sacred Selections for the Church). The text was written by an unknown author. It is identified in some of Charles Alexander’s books with the initials "A. N.," but that could simply stand for "anonymous." The tune was composed by Emerson E. Hasty (19th Century). The song first appeared in the 1878 Good Will published by Thomas Martin Towne (1835-c. 1911) and J. M. Stillman (19th c.). Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church for use in churches of Christ during the twentieth century, it appeared in the 1921 Great Songs of the Church (No. 1) and the 1937 Great Songs of the Church No. 2 both edited by E. L. Jorgenson; the 1935 Christian Hymns (No. 1) and the 1948 Christian Hymns No. 2 both edited by L. O. Sanderson; and the 1963 Christian Hymnal edited by J. Nelson Slater. Today it is found in the 1992 Praise for the Lord edited by John P. Wiegand, in addition to Sacred Selections.

The song talks about the great lengths to which Jesus came that we might be saved.

I. Stanza 1 speaks of His birth
"Jesus, my Savior, to Bethlehem came, Laid in a manger to sorrow and shame;
Oh, it was wonderful, blest be His name, Seeking for me, for me."
 A. Jesus the Savior was born in Bethlehem: Matt. 2.1
 B. The fact that He was laid in a manger showed the sorrow and shame into which He was born: Lk. 2.6-7
 C. Yet, He was willing to be born in this way because He came to seek the lost: Lk. 19.10

II. Stanza 2 speaks of His earthly life
"Jesus, my Savior, in mercy and love, Came from the mansions of heaven above,
Tenderly pleading for sinners like me, Pleading for me, for me."
 A. Jesus came to this earth because of God’s mercy and love for sinful mankind: Jn. 3.16
 B. Even His coming from the mansions above was a sacrifice because the Son of God with the Father in heaven became flesh to dwell among us: Jn. 1.1, 14
 C. Yet, He willingly made this sacrifice and lived on earth that He might plead with sinners, calling them to repentance: Matt. 9.13

III. Stanza 3 speaks of His death
"Jesus, my Savior, on Calvary’s tree, Paid the great debt, and my soul He set free;
Oh, it was wonderful, how could it be? Dying for me, for me!"
 A. Jesus died on Calvary: Lk. 23.33
 B. Why did He die? He wanted to make our souls free, so He paid the price to purchase us: 1 Cor. 6.20
 C. Therefore, He died, not for anything He did, but for us and our sins: Rom. 5.8, 1 Cor. 15.3

IV. Stanza 4 speaks of His gospel
"Jesus, my Savior, the same as of old, While I did wander afar from the fold,
Gently and long He hath pled with my soul, Calling for me, for me."
 A. Even though Jesus is no longer alive on earth, He is the same yesterday, today, and forever: Heb. 13.8
 B. Therefore, He is still seeking those who wander afar from the fold: 1 Pet. 2.25
 C. He does this by calling us through the gospel message to come to Him: Matt. 11.28-30

V. Stanza 5 speaks of His coming again
"Jesus, my Savior, shall come from on high; Sweet is the promise as weary years fly;
Oh, I shall see Him descending the sky, Coming for me, for me."
 A. The New Testament teaches that someday Jesus will come from on high: Acts 1.11
 B. This is a promise that God has made and that we can trust Him to fulfil: 2 Pet. 3.4, 10
 C. When it happens, we know that we shall see Him as He is: 1 Jn. 3.1-3

     CONCL.: The refrain repeats the thought of each stanza, as with #1:
"Seeking for me, for me, Seeking for me, for me;
Oh, it was wonderful, blest be His name, Seeking for me, for me."
If you ended up somehow being lost in the wilderness, it would encourage you to know that someone was out there looking for you. Thus, it is good to be reminded that when I was lost in sin, Jesus came "Seeking For Me."

Leave a Reply

