“I’ll Be So Glad”

"I’LL BE SO GLAD"
"My meditation of Him shall be sweet; I will be glad in the LORD" (Ps. 104.33)

     INTRO.: A song which expresses the gladness that we can have in the Lord from our meditation of Him is "I’ll Be So Glad." The first time I ever saw this song, it was in the 1951 Inspiring Hymns published by Singspiration Music of the Zondervan Corporation, Grand Rapids, MI (reprinted in 1976), with a single stanza, marked "Anon." (for anonymous):
"I’ll be so glad when day is done, I’ll be so glad when vic’try’s won;
There’ll be no sorrow in God’s tomorrow, I’ll be so glad when Jesus comes."
This is also found in the 1995 Rejoice Hymnal published by Tempo Music Publications. I have not been able to find out any further information about it. Another version, with both text and tune (Glad) marked "Traditional" is used in the 1997 Majesty Hymns edited by Frank Garlock and published by Majesty Music of Greenville, SC, with a second stanza:
"I’m waiting for my Lord’s return, And for His coming soon I yearn;
He’ll show His power in that great hour; I’m waiting for my Lord’s return."

     Among hymnbooks published by members of the Lord’s church during the twentieth century for use in churches of Christ, the song appeared, seemingly copied directly from Inspiring Hymns, in the 1965 Great Christian Hymnal No. 2 edited by Tillit S. Teddlie. A three-stanza version entitled "I Am So Glad" with words "Arr. by V. R. R." (for Vana R. Raye) and music "Arr. by L. O. S." (for Lloyd Otis Sanderson–Sanderson often used Vana R. Raye as a penname for his lyrics) and copyrighted 1966 by the Gospel Advocate Co., appeared in the 1966 Christian Hymns No. 3 edited by Sanderson. Apparently stanzas 1 and 2 were added by Sanderson to the anonymous stanza 3. I have taken the liberty of providing my own stanzas 1 and 2 and making a slight alteration in stanza 3.

     The song encourages us to be glad in our lives here with the hope of heaven.

I. Stanza 1 says that we should be glad in our service and worship
"I’ll be so glad to serve my King; I’ll be so glad to pray and sing;
He is my Savior, I seek His favor; I’ll be so glad His praise to bring."
 A. Because Jesus is our King, our desire should be to serve Him with reverence and godly fear: Heb. 12.28
 B. Part of this service includes praying and singing in worship to Him: 1 Cor. 14.15
 C. The fundamental purpose of this praying and singing is to bring praise to God: Heb. 13.15

II. Stanza 2 says that we should be glad in hearing and doing God’s word
"I’ll be so glad God’s will to hear; I’ll be so glad His word to fear;
He makes me holy, I love Him solely; I’ll be so glad to have His cheer."
 A. God wants us both to hear and to fear His will as revealed in His word: Rom. 10.13-17
 B. Through His word, He desires to make us holy as He is holy: 1 Pet. 1.14-16
 C. When we thus obey His word, we can be of good cheer: Jn. 16.33

III. Stanza 3 says that we should be glad in looking forward to eternal life
"I’ll be so glad when day is done; I’ll be so glad when victory’s won;
In God’s tomorrow there’ll be no sorrow; I’ll be so glad the race is run."
 A. "When day is done" could refer to death or it could refer to the end of earth’s day when Jesus comes: 2 Pet. 3.10
 B. It will be at that time, when the dead are raised, that the final victory will be won: 1 Cor. 15.50-57
 C. Then, when the righteous enter their home in heaven, there will be no sorrow: Rev. 21.1-4

     CONCL.: This seems to be one of those "praise choruses" that were popular with youth groups back in the 1950s and 1960s, many of which just arose spontaneously, and no one appears to know whence they came. While the words often tended to be somewhat repetitive and the tunes were catchy, I believe that some of them can be reworked so as to be servicable for use by Christians. Certainly, as I think about the great blessings that I have in worshipping God and studying His word now, and about the even greater blessings that my worship and study can bring in eternity, these things want to make me say, "I’ll Be So Glad."

Leave a Reply

